2022 Spring Juried Exhibition
Log in

Log in


May 14th -  June 24th, In-person exhibition dates

May 28th - Opening Reception 1-4pm

Pennington Custom Art Service

3047 Indianola Ave, Columbus, OH 43202

Since 1910, OAL's annual juried exhibitions continue to be the backbone of the organization's artistic programming, showcasing current work by Ohio artists. For each exhibition, the juror(s) invited by OAL’s Board will apply contemporary standards of excellence to select visual art of the highest merit.

If you would like to submit and are not a member, join today to submit to this state-wide exhibition and gain access to other members only submissions and Ohio Art League activities.

Join Today

Juror: Yan Sun

Yan Sun is Distinguished Professor of Fine Art, Chair of Art Department, and Director of Gallery at Muskingum University. He received M.F.A. degree in painting and drawing from Texas A&M University-Commerce, M.A. degree of Art History from Xi’an Academy of Fine Arts, and B.F.A. degree in painting and drawing from Northwest Normal University, China.

 Yan Sun is the recipient of The William Oxley Thompson Award for Excellence in Teaching (2001) and The William Rainey Harper Award for Outstanding Scholarship (2008) of Muskingum University.

 To recognize the contributions of Yan Sun to the museum and its community, the Zanesville Museum of Art named its diverse cultures gallery "Yan Sun Diverse Cultures Gallery."

 Hayden Museum of American Art published Yan Sun’s paintings in books: “Life ∙Time ∙ SpaceYan Sun’ Paintings” in 2004 and “Yan Sun - Cross Culture ∙ Cross Century” in 2007.

 Yan Sun's paintings are shown in solo exhibitions in art centers, galleries, as well as museums such as Hayden Museum of American Art, Zanesville Museum of Art, Canton Museum of Art, and Museum of East Texas. And some paintings become part of the museums' permanent collections. His paintings are also selected in numerous international and national art exhibitions, including those in the United States, China, Turkey, Greece, Italy, and Kazakhstan. Many of his paintings received awards.


Yan Sun is a signature member of Oil Painters of America (OPA).

 Some awards Yan Sun received include the following:

         Award of Excellence. The 2021 Eastern Regional Juried Exhibition of Traditional Oils, Oil Painters of America (OPA). Art Center Manatee, Bradenton, FL.      September 28 - October 22, 2021.

        Award of Excellence. Best of America, National Oil & Acrylic Painters’ Society (NOAPS). Cutter & Cutter Fine Art, St. Augustine, FL. 2020.

        Award of Excellence. “Virtuosos of the OPA (Oil Painters of America)” Salmagundi Club in NYC. 2015.

        Bronze Medal of Oil Painters of America 2010 Eastern Regional Juried Exhibition, Wilmington, NC. 2010.

 Yan Sun is co-author of the book, The Spirit of Art, The Splendor of Life - Artistic Talents in Ohio.

 Yan Sun is the founder of Yan Sun Art Museum that locates in a beautiful Art Deco style building in Zanesville, Ohio. Since 2014, Yan Sun Art Museum contributes to the community by providing theme exhibitions and various programs.

2022 OAL Spring Juried Exhibition

Award Winners

Best in Show

Secrets Best Kept

Randy Bennett

2nd Place

Plant Print Triptych

Martin Huehner

3rd Place


Meg Beech

Honorable Mention

Because You Are You

Weiting Wei

Honorable Mention

Made You Look

Carmen Ambrosio

Honorable Mention

Lost in the Desert

Linda Shepard

Honorable Mention

Landscape #11

Thomas Stead

Honorable Mention


Anita Maharjan

Spring Juried Exhibition Artists

Approximately 100 works from across the state

Sam Adebuga

Patrick Affourtit

Carmen Ambrosio

Josh Arnold

Pj Aubrey

Laney Baby

Thomas Baillieul

Meg Beech

Randy Bennett

Donna Breitenstein

Rex Brown

Denise Buckley

Kameron Caminiti

Brittney Combs

Douglas Jon Crawford

Ian Cross

Nora Daniel

Christine D'epiro Abbott

Kari Djuve

Brandon Doup

Sarah Dugger

Kim Elliott

Angela Finney

Merrie Linn Fisher

Maggie Flanagan

Maria-Francesca Fleming

Michael  Fornadley

Kathy  German

Beverly Goldie

Dana Grubbe

Kathy Guest

Susanna Harris

Pat Howard

Martin  Huehner

Hannah Jordan

Roberta Kayne

Janealla Killebrew

Debbie  Knight

Marlene Labbe

Kathy Ludlam

Anita Maharjan

Snigdha Mall Singh

Rob Mandell

Manda  Marble

Maria Mcginnis

Rachel Z. Meyer

Eric Mize

Tim Murphy

Jennifer Murray

Jennie Nickel

Said Oladejo-Lawal

Lesley Olson

Chaz O'neil

Jo Ann Parkinson-Holtrey

Dawn Petrill

Evangelia Philippidis

Hassan  Qureshi

C. Butler Rasche

Brooke  Ripley

Holly Romano

David Sallot

Hedieh  Sharifzadeh

Linda Shepard

Adrian Sibley

Klaire Smith

Jennifer Sowders

Thomas Stead

Susan Steiner

David Stichweh

Gale Suver

Sue Swihart

Melodie Thompson

Glenn Tompkins

Ken Van Dyne

Margarita Vilshanetskaya

Gwen Waight

Ernst Wehausen

Weiting  Wei

Karin Weston

Claire Elyce Wiedman

Beth Zanardelli





Logo for Columbus Regional Airport Authority           Logo for Edward A. Dixon Gallery



Supporting Members

Sandra Aska

Katharine Harding

Jordanne Renner

P.O. Box 12324, Columbus, OH 43212 



© Ohio Art League

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software